Easy way to make roses

2 Aug

I learned to make roses using buttercream in the Wilton class. To be honest I didn’t do well. The icing kept breaking and the shapes were awkward. Today I just found a video on YouTube of making fondant roses. It is unbelievably easy!  I came up with an idea of practicing the other day – to use toy clay instead of gum paste (it is much cheaper). I couldn’t wait to try it out. I got the chance… yay – my first practice was to make a rose!

Actually the clay is a bit too soft, but it is good enough for a trial run. I have added more petals than the video, it turned out ok (unfortunately the camera is not very good – hard to do a closeup shot). This way of making roses is nice and easy, I loved it. I would definitely try it again using the fondant one day!

Rose (clay)

3 Responses to “Easy way to make roses”

  1. mydearbakes 04/08/2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Gosh, this looks marvellous ! I’m so loving it! =D

    • cakestamp 04/08/2012 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks! Your cakes looks amazing. I have been following your blog 🙂

  2. Jo 05/08/2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this! I’m definitely going to try this out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

