Tiger cake

13 Oct

It is Samuel’s birthday again, where has the time gone?! Last year I made him the airplane cake, this year I made him a tiger cake since I just learned the animal cake a couple weeks ago. However I didn’t plan it well. I just went along what I felt like. This is a lesson to be learned – always draw out a cake design first! I am not really happy with the mouth, it looks odd. 😦

I swear I remembered the instructor in the Planet Cake class said the chocolate ganache ratio is 1 part chocolate and 2 parts cream. As a result my chocolate ganache was very runny. I added more and more chocolate, it did thicken up but it was still not the right consistency. After the cake was completed, I determined to find out the recipe so I Googled it. I have found the ratio should be 2 parts chocolate and 1 part cream, what a huge mistake!

Well, I still have a lot to learn. Although this is not my best cake ever, I am posting here to keep me motivated. Watch this space. 🙂

Tiger cake

Tiger cake

Leave a Reply

