Cake pops

19 Jan

If you read my previous blog you know I made some cake pops for Felix and Pixel (my nephew-in-law and niece-in-law) on Christmas. We were invited to Felix’s three-year-old birthday party last week. My brother-in-law emailed us and said “by the way your cake pops are Felix’s favorite food now. I’m not hinting that you should make more but we use them as toilet training”. Haha, I totally got his ‘subtle’ hint therefore I made more for his birthday!

Cake pops were first introduced to me by Bakerella. Her cake pops looked perfect! Also I found this step by step tutorial quite useful. The hardest part for me is to make a perfect round ball, which I still haven’t achieved yet! Melting the candy melt in a right consistency is very important too. If it is too thick it can’t coat the cake balls evenly. A helpful tip is to add some vegetable shortening into the candy melt.

I am not telling you how to make cake pops here but I want to share an idea of presenting the cake pops. I have seen Miss Melicious using a flower pot to present cupcakes before. The cupcakes were decorated like flowers coming out from the pot. I stole her idea for my cake pops – are they lovely? 🙂

You need:

1 polystyrene ball (can find in a craft store)
1 flower pot that can fit the polystyrene ball in
Wrapping tissue
Green confetti

  1. Wrap the polystyrene ball with wrapping tissue.
  2.  1/3 to 1/2 of the polystyrene ball should be sticking out of the flower pot but I couldn’t find a perfect matching one, so I put some confetti at the bottom of the flower pot to raise the polystyrene ball up.
  3. Use glue or double-sided tapes to stick the confetti on top of the polystyrene ball, so they look like leave or grass.
  4. Last but not least, push the cake pop sticks into the polystyrene ball.
Cake pops on a flower pot

Cake pops on a flower pot

cake pops

Cake pops close up

2 Responses to “Cake pops”

  1. samsjones 08/06/2014 at 5:28 pm #

    always wanted to try this out! 🙂 think I will now

Leave a Reply

