Choko & pine nut loaf

20 Apr

Some people may not know what chokos are. Basically they are like big green pears with a subtle sweet flavor. Normally I will slice and stir fry them for a few minutes to bring out their sweetness but they still remain crisp. Thanks my friend Rose who has given me some home-grown chockos. Because there are quite a few, I want to cook them in a more interesting way. Some time ago I saw a recipe of choko cake, I was skeptical at the time. After I have done some research online, I came up with my own recipe and decided to give it a whirl.

The result? It was excellent! Bits of the choko fresh not only added some color to the cake but also added a subtle fruity flavor. I really enjoyed the cake! 🙂

Choko & pine nut loaf

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 pine nuts
  • 1 big choko
  1. Peel and remove the seed of the choko. Chop it into small chunks and add to boiling water to cook about 10 minutes or until they are soft enough to smash. Smash and drain the choko puree through a fine sieve and set aside.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together except the pine nuts. Add vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla extract to the dry ingredients and whisk together. Finally add smashed choko and pine nuts and mix well.
  3. Pour the mixture into a greased loaf pan. Bake in the oven at 175°C. If the edge turns brown too fast, turn down the oven to 160°C after 20 minutes and continue baking for further 20-25 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

IMG_7343IMG_7350 IMG_7402

7 Responses to “Choko & pine nut loaf”

  1. Laurie Nguyen 20/04/2014 at 5:12 pm #

    I have never seen a choko before, but maybe that’s because I haven’t been looking for them. I think I’ll keep an eye out for them. Your choko and pine nut loaf looks delicious!

    • cakestamp 20/04/2014 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks Laurie! Perhaps you will find them in some Asian supermarkets 🙂

      • Laurie Nguyen 20/04/2014 at 5:23 pm #

        I’ll take a look. I need to head to the Asian market to pick up some special ingredients for my hubby and kids. Thank you!

  2. Baking With Gab 20/04/2014 at 7:15 pm #

    There are chokos that grow wild near my work and I’ve wanted to know what to do with them for ages! This is an interesting idea 🙂

    • cakestamp 21/04/2014 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks, I was surprised to find chokos are very versatile, can be used in salad, soup, chutney and baking!

  3. leanne 22/08/2015 at 7:50 pm #

    Made this choko and pine nut loaf was lovely and moist surprisingly delicious

    • cakestamp 23/08/2015 at 2:12 pm #

      Thanks for trying my recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

